Architecture and Construction
The homestead was built in 1830 by John Bray, a veteran of the War of 1812. Originally built as a simple frame cottage, the home was expanded over time. By c. 1875 it had been modified into its present form that was popular in the late 19th century. Of particular note is the central gothic revival (or neo-gothic) arch that sits predominantly at the centre of the homestead upper front façade.
The Hunter Family’s Residence
In 1852, David and Jane Hunter, Adelaide’s parents, purchased the property. The descendants of the Hunter family retained ownership of the homestead farm until 1906.
In the first half of the 20th century, the property was owned by various families until it was purchased by the Federated Women’s Institute of Canada (FWIC) in 1959. The FWIC, along with the help of other Women’s Institute groups worldwide, renovated the farmhouse to reflect the time period in which the Hunter family would have lived there. Today, the Homestead continues their original sentiment and reflects the time period of c. 1875-1880 when Adelaide was nearly a grown woman. The furnishings within the home were donated largely by WI members.
In 1995 the Historic Sites and Monument Board designated the Homestead a National Historic Site.
Over time, even a National Historic Site needs tender loving care. In 2010, the Homestead underwent a significant restoration process to return the home to its former glory. The result was stunning!
Check it out below!